Crichton Lang, Willis + Galloway (CLWG) Architects was established in 1984 as a direct result of the dissolution of Ian G. Lindsay and Partners. Of the founding partners, David Willis remains following the retirement from the business of both Mr. Lang and Mr Galloway in 1988. The practice relocated into its present owner-occupied offices in Edinburgh’s Stockbridge in 1990.

Crichton Lang, Willis + Galloway have carried on the tradition, established in Scotland by Ian Lindsay, of architects with particular interest and skill in the care and conservation of existing buildings, and a bias towards the sensitive reuse and refurbishment of existing and historically important buildings.

We are committed to providing a high quality professional service to all clients, ensuring that their needs are taken fully into consideration during the design process, and that our client’s requirements remain of paramount importance during all stages of the works.


RICS/The Times Conservation Award (1981)

Europa Nostra Medal of Honour (1981)

Europa Nostra Diploma of Merit (1987)

Royal Town Planning Institue Award for Planning (1991)

Europa Nostra Medal of Honour (1992)

Historic Scotland Award for Restoration of Mill 1, New Lanark (1996)

Historic Scotland Award for Restoration of Mill 1, New Lanark (1998)

Historic Scotland Award for Restoration of Thirlestane Castle (1998)

Civic Trust Award (1999)

Historic Scotland Award for Restoration of St. Mary’s Cathedral (1999)

Royal Town Planning Institute Special Award for Mill 1, New Lanark (2002)



Aston Martin


Client: The John Martin Group

Project: Aston Martin Showroom, Sighthill


Development of Edinburgh’s only Aston Martin showroom in collaboration with ‘Imagination’

Project included structural alteration to existing building and the re-design of existing building facade along with interior fit-out to complement the Aston Martin brand

Camera Obscura


Client: Landmark Visitor Centres

Project: 1 Ramsay Lane/549 Castlehill


Outlook Tower, located at the top of Edinburgh’s Royal Mile, is the capital’s oldest tourist attraction. Involvement with the project dates back over 20 years, with earlier work dedicated to the restoration and repair to the existing buildings, and the internal development of the Tower. The current and final phase of the project involves the development of the adjoining Ramsay Lane building. The introduction of external link spaces and reconfigured internal circulation spaces will enable the two buildings to operate as a single exhibition space, whilst remaining sympathetic to the history of the Castlehill site.

The Glasshouse


Client: Eskmills

Project: The Glasshouse (now ‘The Birdcage’) Eskmills, Musselburgh


Our involvement with Eskmills started in the late 1980’s with the restoration of the existing mill building facades and the internal remodelling to form a blend of office and exhibition spaces.

In late 2004 the existing central Piazza building was restored and extended with a contemporary glass intervention.

Robert Owen’s School


Client: New Lanark Trust

Project: Robert Owen’s School, New Lanark


The initial stages of the project involved restoring the unstable masonry shell and building fabric, including the restoration of a large section of roof which was completely demolished.

The building was fitted out to form an audio visual theatre, children’s activity areas, a themed sound and light area, a restored class room and an exhibition area displaying the pathology of the building.

The restoration retained the original ‘pencheck’ stone stair, made safe and celebrated with new modern glass treads. The carefully restored roof structure is exposed to allow visitors an insight into the restoration process of the building, and New Lanark as a whole.

West Coast Retreat


Client: Private

Project: House & Retreat, West Coast, Scotland


Restoration of existing Grade A Listed castle and rebuilding of neighbouring byre

St Mary’s Cathedral


Client: St Mary’s Cathedral

Project: St Mary’s Cathedral, Edinburgh


CLWG’s involvement with St Mary’s Cathedral dates back to 1985 when the company were appointed to oversee the work of the Cathedral apprentices as well as the external repair to all elements of the building masonry fabric, CLWG are currently still appointed to oversee this work.

In 2001 CLWG were responsible for a comprehensive scheme of repair works to all roof covering including slate work, lead work and stained glass restoration work

The Boiler House


Client: The University of Edinburgh

Project: Office for the Social Responsibility & Sustainability Department


The proposed office for the University of Edinburgh’s newly formed Social Responsibility & Sustainability Department is within an unused Boiler House building located within the High School Yards, adjacent to the recently completed Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation (ECCI), creating a sustainability hub for the city.

The proposals develop and extend the building to provide sufficient working and meeting space for the department and will be the first Edinburgh University building to achieve a SKA rating for sustainable fit-out.

Planning Permission was received in summer 2014 and works are dues to commence on site early 2015, with completion scheduled for summer 2015.

Mill One Hotel

Hotels + Leisure

Client: New Lanark Trust

Project: Mill One Hotel, New Lanark


Dating from 1785, the Mill was originally a six storey building with the adjacent Waterhouses dating from 1810. In 1946, the upper storeys had been removed, leaving an undignified asphalt roof.

CLWG’s intial involvement was to stabilise the structure and carry out extensive stone repairs – the Palladian windows were restored and internal lift shafts and stairs were added.

Phase 2 involved the adapting of the interior of the Milll 1 and level six of the adjoining Mill 2 as a hotel and the Waterhouses as apartments.

A fine balance has been achieved between retaining the original features of the historic mill buildings and adapting to a new role as a four-star hotel and self-catering accomodation. The new upper floors feature the same barrel vaulted ceiling detail as the spinning and weaving rooms on the original lower levels, and every bedroom has at least two windows, capitalising on the stunning views. The missing floor between levels two and three has been reinstated as a mezzanine which is accessed by a stunning new curved stairway rising from the reception lounge to the restaurant.

38 Dean Park Mews, Edinburgh, EH4 1ED
0131 315 2940